Portraits

1. Individual Side Composition:
MakenzieBush-Fireman
This is my dad. He is a firefighter in Las Vegas. It was so fun to be able to get some pictures of him with his fire engine and see all his cool gear. I love this picture because although it focuses on him, you can see the blurry engine in the back with Las Vegas clearly showing.

2. Individual Head & Shoulders:
DamonTruck
It seems like the last picture I take in a photoshoot is always my favorite. This was the last picture! My cousin Damon has a beautiful, cherry red Ford. It is “his baby” so we decided to take some pictures of him with it. This was the result!

3. Individual Full Body:
MakenzieBush-Cementplant
For this photo we went to the old cement plant in my hometown. We used to go to this area to scare ourselves as teenagers, so I could hardly get a picture without constantly glancing over my shoulder to make sure we were the only ones there! My friend Zak had to climb on top of big cement pipe to get to this location.

4. Group Candid:
MakenzieBush-hug
This is the “I want to squeeze your guts out, but I’m supposed to act like I love you” picture. I am so glad I got this shot because it explains my siblings perfectly. This is their way of torturing each other without anyone getting hurt.

5. Group Posed:
MakenzieBush-Bandposter
This picture was also taken out at the old cement plant. This room worked perfectly with lighting because one half of the building is broken down. I got this picture right when the sun was in front of it, so all that natural light came in and lit them up perfectly. I think this looks like a rock band poster or something. The cement surface they are standing on acts as a stage, and the surrounding couches make it feel like an audience should be there lounging around and listening to them play.

6. Individual Environmental:
MakenzieBush-Engineer
Just another portrait of my dad at the station. He is the engineer, so I got this picture of him in the drivers seat.

7. Portrait Enhancement Edits:
MakenzieBush-GarrettReedit
Edits: Sharpen, Surface Blur (Airbrushed Skin), Dodge/Burn, Selective Color, Levels.
This photo of my friend Garrett was taken in St.Anthony at an old run down hotel. The colors and lighting in this picture were already amazing, but a little work in photoshop really made it pop.

8. Color Match:
MakenzieBush-Madison
MakenzieBush-MadisonOriginal
MakenzieBush-SourceImage
This is an individual portrait of my sister. She got the beautiful tan skin of the family.

9. Color Replacement:
Marcuscolorreplacement
Marcusfullcrop
Lastly, this is a portrait of my friend Marcus that we took in Las Vegas. We were not in the nicest part of town, but this graffiti was so cool we had to stop! For the color replacement I chose a blue to complement the blues in the graffiti.

8 thoughts on “Portraits

  1. Makenzie, all of your photos are terrific! I love the diversity of the backgrounds and how you used them to add depth and interest to your portraits. You also did an excellent job with lighting, and I love the photo of your dad in the firetruck. You captured the perfect angle.
    Here’s some other great blogs:
    https://jessesmidt.wordpress.com/blog/
    https://ariannawomack.wordpress.com/category/photography/
    And here’s mine!
    https://nsbastdesign.wordpress.com/

    Like

  2. I love this! The lighting in all of them are fantastic and I love how different they are from one another. You did a great job! I really want to check out the cement plant now, it’s so cool!

    Feel free to check out my blog at: https://afisherinthesea.wordpress.com/2016/06/01/portraits/
    I really like Carissa’s last photo, check it out:https://carisssamarie.wordpress.com/2016/06/01/portrait-photography/
    I found this page on Pinterest and I thought it was really cool how they portrayed the photos:https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/originals/1c/33/81/1c33813cd46c1f6f7954340921469f86.jpg

    Like

  3. Hey Mackenzie! Awesome job on the portrait shots this week! All of the portraits were really interesting and I liked how the images were taken in different angles/perspectives and places. I’m sure it was great to be able to go home for the weekend and see your family! I also love the emotions you were able to capture! Awesome job on the color replacement and color match!

    I have a close friend that i’ve worked with multiple times and he is an awesome portrait photographer here in Rexburg. Feel free to check him out!
    http://www.joshpetersen.com/

    Like

  4. You did such an insanely good job on this assignment. Honestly, of all the photos yours stands out the most to me. I saw you post some of them of Facebook and I knew that I wanted to see them on your blog and see how you did them. I can’t get over how much I love your photos.

    Here’s a link to another photographer you might like: http://www.trevorbrenden.com

    Like

  5. Alright Makenzie your’e a boss with portraits! Flip! This comment isn’t for credit this is just to let you know how insanely good you are!

    Like

Leave a comment